IDN Domains, IDN Domain Forums, Arabic Domains, Chinese Domains, Buy, Sell, and Appraise  

Go Back   IDN Domains, IDN Domain Forums, Arabic Domains, Chinese Domains, Buy, Sell, and Appraise > IDN Discussions > General Discussion
Home Chat Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Discussion General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th September 2008, 11:55:18
mj's Avatar
mj mj is online now
Administrator
iTrader Rating: (3) - old IDNF ratings here
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,302
Rep Power: 1
mj is on a distinguished road
Default Chicago2016.com in UDRP

Quote:
As Chicago wages its battle to host the 2016 Olympics, it also finds itself scrapping over a valuable piece of cyberspace: the domain name of Chicago2016.com.

The bid team along with the U.S. Olympic Committee are trying to wrest that online address from Stephen Frayne Jr., a 29-year-old MBA student.

...

"We certainly see Chicago2016.com as the logical default domain for our site, and we believe having someone else control it is misleading for people seeking information about Chicago's bid," said Patrick Sandusky, a spokesman for Chicago 2016, a moniker protected by trademark.

Chicago, which uses Chicago2016.org as its official web site, is seeking to win control of Chicago2016.com through a complaint filed with an international arbitration organization. A decision could come as soon as Monday.

...

"Chicago 2016 falls right in line with the names Olympic committees have used for years," said Jeff Handelman, chairman of the trademark litigation group at Brinks Hofer Gilson & Lione. "If what the gentleman is doing is duplicating a well-established naming pattern that Olympic committees have used for so many years, I find that interesting. I wonder what the intent is."

http://www.chicagotribune.com/busine...,6898818.story

.
__________________
A whole lotta woman - a woman you can love all night long and never love the same spot twice...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Twit this!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st September 2008, 22:09:47
Junior Member
iTrader Rating: (0) - old IDNF ratings here
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 26
Rep Power: 0
BandAid is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Does anyone have information or links to previous legal cases regarding sydney2000.com, athens2004.com, or beijing2008.com, or even london2012.com.

Did those names have a court story behind them?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
平和.com, 和食.com, 舶.com, 京浜.com, 欧州.com, 欧米.com, 有り難う.com, 漢字.com, 仲.com, 価.com, 疫.com ... many more
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiGoogle Bookmark this Post!Twit this!Yahoo Bookmark this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:34:25.


Powered by vBulletin®
All content is licensed as "Creative Commons"

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43